News

Dec 8, 2021
We are pleased to release the ninth issue of a monthly Chinese Buddhist Canon Research Newsletter in November 2021. The purpose of this newsletter is to present academic information about the research, collation, collection, and digitalization of Chinese Buddhist canons and scriptures. The opinions...
Nov 25, 2021
[Panel Highlight] Panel 4: Precious Scrolls in Jiangnan Arizona: 4:00pm, Dec 11 | New York: 6:00pm, Dec 11 | London: 11:00pm, Dec 11| Taiwan: 7:00 am, Dec 12 | Tokyo: 8:00 am, Dec 12 Zoom event (please register via the website or click the link below to receive zoom link to the symposium) Chair:...
Nov 22, 2021
Professor Jiang Wu and Professor Albert Welter will present papers at the upcoming Tung Lin Kok Yuen International Conference: Buddhist Canons: In Search of a Theoretical Foundation for a Wisdom-oriented Education, Nov. 27 - Nov. 28, 2021 in Hong Kong.  Leading scholars in Buddhist Studies and...
Nov 19, 2021
Jiangnan Buddhist Traditions in Context: The Early Modern Period [Panel Highlight] Panel 3: Peng Shaosheng and Spirit-Writing Arizona: 10:45am, Dec 10 New York: 12:45pm, Dec 10 London: 5:45pm, Dec 10 Taiwan: 1:45 am, Dec 11 Tokyo: 2:45am, Dec 11 Zoom event (please register via the website or click...
Nov 17, 2021
Jiangnan Buddhist Traditions in Context: The Early Modern Period [Panel Highlight] Panel 2: Mountains and Manifestations Arizona: 9:00am, Dec 10 New York: 11:00am, Dec 10 London: 4:00pm, Dec 10 Taiwan: 12:00 am, Dec 11 Tokyo: 1:00 am, Dec 11 Zoom event (please register via the website or click the...
Nov 15, 2021
Mt. Lingyin Culture International Symposium (“灵隐山” 文化国际论坛) was held on October 16, 2021 at Lingyin Temple in Hangzhou, China. More than fifty scholars attended the symposium and presented their studies on Hangzhou Buddhist Culture, including Dr. Albert Welter, head of the Department of East Asian...
Nov 12, 2021
Welcome to the Center for Buddhist Studies Community Wellness Digest! In this monthly email, we will share wisdom from Buddhist teachings you can use in your daily life, wellness tips, and information about university and community events. We welcome your feedback. Let us know what you think by...
Nov 12, 2021
Ecodharma Resources In our seventh Community Wellness Newsletter, we explore the topic of ecodharma, the environmental movement inspired by Buddhist ethics. Below you will find a list of resources compiled by our editorial team. Please reach out to each organization via their website for more...
Nov 12, 2021
Hannah Greene is a Fellow at the Center for Buddhist Studies at the University of Arizona and a practitioner of Insight Meditation and the Alexander Technique, a Western mind-body awareness technique. In our seventh Community Wellness Newsletter, we explore the topic of ecodharma, the environmental...
Nov 12, 2021
In our seventh Community Wellness Newsletter, we explore the topic of ecodharma, the environmental movement inspired by Buddhist ethics. Since the early 1960s, Buddhists and activists inspired by Buddhism have applied some of the core tenets of Buddhist teachings to inspire collective action to...

Pages